Your browser is not supported

You are using a browser we do not support any longer. To continue visiting our website, please choose one of the following supported browsers.


May 15, 2018

The John Munck Award for technical innovations is this year presented to Paul Neller, Andy Mann, Phil North, Dave Manson, Brian Murphy, Allen Park and Jonathan Youn, who work in the Semiconductor division in Atlas Copco's Vacuum Technique business area. They are presented the award for developing the iXM dry pump. The pump, used in the semiconductor manufacturing process, improves service life and reliability and is smaller, more silent and more energy efficient than its competitors.

“The team has developed a product with a high level of technology and innovation that will help our customers. They have shown such commitment and I am happy to present them the award,” said Mats Rahmström, Atlas Copco’s President and CEO. The vacuum pump was developed in South Korea, where a large part of the world's semiconductors are manufactured. The John Munck Award, established in 1991, is presented each year to a product developer, designer or a team for outstanding contributions to the overall quality of an Atlas Copco product. The award will be presented to the winners at the Annual General Meeting on April 24, 2018. For information on past award winners, please see More information on the iXM dry pump:

Get in touch. Find your local expert today.